Photo of

Guildhall School of Music & Drama

Filipe Manu Tenor

Recipient of Independent Opera Voice Scholarship 2018

Filipe Manu holds a Bachelor of Music and a Postgraduate Diploma with Distinction from the University of Waikato, where he studied under the tutelage of Dame Malvina Major as a Sir Edmund Hillary scholar. A current student on the Guildhall School of Music and Drama Opera programme, he is studying towards his Masters in Music with world renowned soprano Yvonne Kenny.

This year he has been selected as an artist for the London based Samling Artist programme for the 2018/2019 intake. A former Dame Malvina Major Emerging Artist with New Zealand Opera, he was selected for both the inaugural Dame Malvina Major Opera programme and the Dame Kiri Te Kanawa Foundation Singers’ Development programme. He is a proud alumnus of both the New Zealand Opera School and the New Zealand Youth Choir.

Filipe has achieved notable success in aria competitions nationally and internationally, most recently being awarded the 2018 Kiri Te Kanawa Foundation scholarship for Outstanding Potential in the Lexus Song Quest and winning Australia's prestigious competition the IFAC Handa – Australian Singing Competition in Sydney along with the Audience Prize in 2017. He has been the proud recipient of the Iosefa Enari memorial award, the Patricia Pratt scholarship and the David Beattie scholarship.

Most recently, Filipe performed as part of a small ensemble with the LSO under the baton of Sir Simon Rattle in Berlioz’s La Damnation de Faust and later made his solo debut at the Barbican Centre in Stravinsky’s Pulcinella with the LSSO. Later in 2018 Filipe will perform Ferrando in Così fan tutte, and Lysander in A Midsummer Night’s Dream in early 2019 as part of the Guildhall School’s main stage Opera productions.

Filipe proudly acknowledges the support of the Dame Malvina Major Foundation, the Dame Kiri Te Kanawa Foundation, The New Zealand Opera Foundation Trust and the Auckland Rotary Club.

This biography was published in November 2018.