The WIGMORE HALL/INDEPENDENT OPERA Voice Fellowship is designed to further the already promising career of a singer committed to both opera and song. Candidates are chosen from participants in the biennial Wigmore Hall/Kohn Foundation International Song Competition.

The Fellowship provides between £5,000 and £10,000 per annum for up to two years, subject to annual review and approval of Wigmore Hall and Independent Opera. The Fellowship is unique in that the recipient is mentored under the auspices of Wigmore Hall, providing unprecedented opportunities for access to singing lessons and coaching with the top opera singers in the world. Guidance is provided about repertoire, agents, recordings and career development. A Wigmore Hall recital or other opportunities to perform at Wigmore Hall may be offered to the recipient, conditional upon sufficient progress over the course of the Fellowship. Such offers are entirely at the discretion of Wigmore Hall.

Six Fellowships have been awarded between 2007 and 2017, to Matthew RoseGaëlle Arquez, Clara MourizDominik KöningerAnna Huntley and James Newby.

The next Wigmore Hall/Kohn Foundation International Song Competition will take place between Sunday 3 – Thursday 7 September 2017.


11 November 2010
Matthew Rose accompanied by Malcolm Martineau
Programme: Bach, Schubert, Wolf and Ives

21 April 2013
Gaëlle Arquez accompanied by James Baillieu
Programme: Hahn, Poulenc, Duparc, Bizet, Delibes, Lara, Falla and Obradors

2 February 2014
Clara Mouriz accompanied by Roger Vignoles
Programme: Haydn, Duparc and Granados

12 April 2015
Dominik Köninger accompanied by Volker Krafft
‘Songs of the Elements’ Programme: Schubert, Mahler, Brahms, Wolf, Liszt, Mendelssohn and Schumann

10 January 2016
Anna Huntley accompanied by James Baillieu
Programme: Brahms, Schumann, Weill and more


Recent blog posts

3 November 2016

Simplicius Rehearsals in Photos…

Read more

15 October 2016

2016 Director Fellow, Polly Graham visits Munich ahead of Simplicius rehearsals…

Read more

13 October 2016

Independent Opera announce its 2016-2017 Vocal Scholars and Postgraduate Fellows…

Read more